My body

I empathized with my sleeping body in the night
When at midnight a pup yowled on the blackness
Of the world, from the cold of a winter basement.

As my mind was my factotum for  sundry work
It had the onerous job of keeping the pup away.

The factotum  was unable to keep the pup away .
I now had the  burden of a mum that was absent 
That had left its  pups to the dark of a midnight.

But, sir,  the mind is not mother's keeper nor pups.
Come to think of it, it is not even my  body's keeper.

Leave a Reply

